So that you can experience our website optimally, our website uses cookies. When you press "OK", you are accepting our use of cookies. use of cookies

Media Room

back
06/2019

SPORT 2000 International on track with forward-looking concepts

The sports retail organization generated a total revenue of EUR 3.9 bn in 2018 | New shopping experience planned using innovative retail formats for specialists and generalists | Transnational cooperation to be stepped up to achieve the 2021 future strategy | Supervisory Board reelected at General Meeting

2018 was another successful financial year for SPORT 2000 International, Europe’s second largest sports retail buying group. The specialist retail association, which currently has 3,555 stores in 23 countries, generated a total revenue of EUR 3.9 billion. This represents sales growth of 2.1 percent compared to the previous year. “Our growth as a buying group once again confirms that we are on the right track. Achieving success in such a dynamic market as sports retail requires us to adapt continuously and flexibly to changes by customers, retailers and brand partners. In 2018, we achieved further important milestones on our way to becoming a strong and successful retail service organization in the sports retail sector. We are delighted with this satisfying increase in revenue,” said Margit Gosau, CEO of SPORT 2000 International, summing up the previous financial year at the General Meeting in Frankfurt, Germany, in mid-May. Gosau’s aim is to further develop the sports retail group into an integrated, vertically oriented retail service organization with effective decision-making abilities and a strong consumer brand throughout Europe. To achieve this, she is focusing consistently on expanding visibility, a strategically important move that will strengthen the SPORT 2000 brand across Europe. In the future, collaboration with international sports brand partners will increasingly involve joint development of retail concepts. These will take the in-store experience to the next level for customers in brick-and mortar sports retail stores. In this context, Gosau is stepping up transnational cooperation to a higher level than previously.

Success with new retail formats for specialists and generalists

Gosau firmly believes that retail needs new concepts to ensure it remains attractive to consumers in the future. For that reason, at the top of her list of priorities is the development and establishment of new retail formats aimed at strengthening the SPORT 2000 specialists and generalists. In a highly topical presentation at this year’s SPORT 2000 International conference, Gosau gave the representatives of all 23 SPORT 2000 countries some initial insights into the new generalists’ concept. “The successful results and the great reception from retailers, customers and brand partners for our specialists’ format, the Absolute Stores, confirm that a new experience is needed in retail. Now more than ever, people and experiences are key factors in the seamless integration of the offline and online worlds. It’s no longer just about products. A store is no longer merely retail space, but an all-round omnichannel concept. There is an emphasis on the idea of community and a sports experience in which customers can immerse themselves for the duration of their visit. This understanding connects industry, retailers and customers. A new experience is needed to capture the imagination of the customers of the future and bring them into stores. The starting point for all retail formats is clearly SPORT 2000’s brand essence and the distinct, relevant and future-oriented positioning of the brand. “We consistently bring the human touch to all of our concepts and strategic projects,” said Gosau, outlining the vision of SPORT 2000’s new generation retail format.  

Last year, the SPORT 2000 sports retail organization launched the "Absolute" premium retail format for specialists in all member countries. The launch got off to a successful start in fall 2018 with the opening of the Absolute Teamsport store in Ruppach-Goldhausen, followed by two further openings in April 2019 in Münster and Homberg-Efze. Also in April 2019, the first Absolute Run store was opened in Bonn. The concept reinforces SPORT 2000’s quality strategy and focuses on closer collaboration between retailers, the group, and suppliers. Through Absolute, SPORT 2000 provides a high level of support for the activities of SPORT 2000 retailers across Europe, thus enabling them to concentrate on their core areas of expertise: individually tailored advice and sales.  By gradually expanding the Absolute format, SPORT 2000 is driving forward its 2021 future strategy.

Transnational working groups as a success factor

To achieve the aim of making SPORT 2000 an integrated, vertically oriented retail service organization in the long term, the strengths of the individual countries will be pooled even more intensively than in the past, and interaction between them will be increased. “Our clear aim is to strengthen SPORT 2000 International at all levels and take optimum advantage of the synergies that exist between countries. Our countries have regional, strongly defined skills and a sound understanding of markets and customers. The ability to transfer knowledge and expertise via joint international projects is our strong point as an international organization. This helps us further optimize existing business processes and understand markets even better. It also enables us to develop new formats for the benefit of all members of the buying group and, ultimately, customers throughout Europe,” said Gosau, underlining that cross-border networking of skills is an important success factor. In this context, SPORT 2000 International also intensified its analysis of transnational data in 2018. This will bring SPORT 2000 a step closer to analyzing internal processes and market developments more closely and optimizing these transnationally. By evaluating this data, customer behavior can be recorded in greater detail and decisions on the product range can be responded to more quickly. “Considerable progress has been made internally towards consolidating POS data at an international level. We will launch an international database at the end of this year. The information from the transnational POS data enables us to offer our retailers an even higher level of service in terms of range design. We will also be able to win over our customers in store,” said Gosau. Over the next few years, extensive work will also be carried out on implementing a standardized omnichannel solution for SPORT 2000 retailers in the core markets.

Supervisory board confirmed

At the Annual General Meeting, Dr. Holger Schwarting, Chairman of SPORT 2000 Austria, was reconfirmed as Chairman of the Supervisory Board of SPORT 2000 International. Following the General Meeting, the Supervisory Board now comprises the following members: Chairman Dr. Holger Schwarting, Austria; Deputy Chairman Matthias Grevener, Germany; Marius Rovers, the Netherlands; Jean-Louis Parent, France; and Hans-Hermann Deters, Germany.

SPORT 2000 International

With 3,555 businesses in 23 countries, SPORT 2000 International is the second largest buying group of independent sports retailers in Europe, employing over 35,000 employees. In 2018, the sports retail company generated a total revenue of EUR 3.9 billion.

Inquiries:                              

Impuls Kommunikation | Irina Haas

irina@impulskommunikation.at | Mobile: +43 676 95 05311

SUBSCRIPTION TO PRESS MAILING LIST

We would be pleased to add you to our press mailing list and will send you the requested press informations.

Registration
SUBSCRIPTION TO PRESS MAILING LIST

Oops, there is something missing..

As we take our press mailing list really personally, wie would like to address you with your full name. Please fill in all the fields.

PRESS CONTACT

Impuls Kommunikation
Scharitzerstraße 12, 4020 Linz
Telefon +43 732 234940
Fax +43 732 234940-90
office@impulskommunikation.at

Damit Sie unsere Webseite optimal erleben können, verwendet diese Webseite Cookies. Durch klicken auf "OK" stimmen Sie unserer Verwendung von Cookies zu. Verwendung von Cookies

Media Room

zurück
06/2019

SPORT 2000 International mit Zukunftskonzepten auf Kurs

Der Sporthändlerverbund erzielte 2018 einen Gesamtumsatz von 3,9 Mrd. Euro | Neues Einkaufserlebnis im stationären Handel durch innovative Retailformate für Spezialisten und Generalisten | Forcierung der länderübergreifenden Zusammenarbeit zur Realisierung der Zukunftsstrategie 2021 | Aufsichtsrat bei Generalversammlung neu gewählt

2018 war für SPORT 2000 International, Europas zweitgrößte Verbundgruppe im Sporthandel, erneut ein erfolgreiches Geschäftsjahr. Die Fachhändlergemeinschaft erzielte mit aktuell 3.555 Standorten in 23 Ländern einen Gesamtumsatz von 3,9 Mrd. Euro, das entspricht einem Umsatzwachstum von 2,1 Prozent im Vergleich zum Vorjahr. „Unser Wachstum als Verbundgruppe bestätigt einmal mehr, dass wir auf dem richtigen Weg sind. Auf einem so dynamischen Markt wie dem Sportfachhandel erfolgreich zu sein, erfordert sich beständig und flexibel an Veränderungen anzupassen - auf Kunden-, Händler- und Markenpartnerseite. Wir haben 2018 weitere wichtige Meilensteine auf unserem Weg zu einer erfolgreichen, starken Retail Service Organisation im Sporthandel erreicht und freuen uns über ein zufriedenstellendes Umsatzplus“ fasst die CEO von SPORT 2000 International, Margit Gosau im Rahmen der Generalversammlung Mitte Mai in Frankfurt/Deutschland das letzte Geschäftsjahr zusammen. Das Ziel von Gosau ist es, die Sporthändlergemeinschaft zu einer integrierten, vertikal orientierten Retail Service Organisation mit starker Entscheidungsfähigkeit und einer starken Konsumenten-Marke in ganz Europa weiter zu entwickeln. Dafür setzt sie konsequent auf den strategisch wichtigen Ausbau der Sichtbarkeit und damit Stärkung der Marke SPORT 2000 europaweit. In der Kooperation mit internationalen Sportmarkenpartnern geht es zukünftig verstärkt um die gemeinsame Entwicklung von speziellen Konzepten, um das im In-Store-Erlebnis für Kunden im stationären Sportfachhandel in eine nächste Dimension zu bringen. In diesem Zusammenhang, forciert sie noch stärker als bisher die länderübergreifende Zusammenarbeit.

Erfolgreich mit neuen Retailformaten für Spezialisten – und Generalisten

Der stationäre Handel braucht neue Konzepte, um auch zukünftig für Konsumenten attraktiv zu sein, ist Gosau überzeugt. Die Entwicklung und Etablierung neuer Retailformate zur Stärkung der SPORT 2000 Spezialisten und Generalisten steht für sie daher ganz oben auf der Prioritätenliste. Top aktuell präsentierte Gosau bei der diesjährigen SPORT 2000 International Konferenz den Vertretern aller 23 SPORT 2000 Länder erste Einblicke in das neue Generalisten Konzept. „Die Erfolge und der große Zuspruch von Händler- Kunden- und Markenpartnerseite für unser Spezialistenformat, die Absolute Stores, bestätigen, dass es ein neues Erlebnis im stationären Handel braucht. In nahtloser Verknüpfung zwischen der Offline und Online-Welt geht es mehr denn je geht es um People und Experience und nicht mehr nur um Produkte. Ein Geschäft ist nicht weiter nur Verkaufsfläche, sondern ein ganzheitliches Omnichannel-Konzept. Der Community Gedanke steht im Vordergrund und eine Sport-Erlebniswelt, in die die Kunden für die Dauer ihres Aufenthaltes eintauchen. Dieses Verständnis verbindet Industrie, Handel und Kunden. Es braucht ein neues Erlebnis, um den Kunden von morgen zu begeistern und ins Geschäft zu bringen. Der Startpunkt für alle Retailformate ist ganz klar der Markenkern von SPORT 2000 und die klare, relevante und zukunftsorientierte Positionierung der Marke. Wir setzen den «Human Touch» konsequent in allen unseren Konzepten und strategischen Projekten um“, skizziert Gosau die Vision des neuen New Generation Retail-Format von SPORT 2000.   

Letztes Jahr lancierte die Sportfachhandelsorganisation SPORT 2000 das Premium Retail Format „Absolute“ für Spezialisten für alle Mitgliedsländer. Nach dem erfolgreichen Start im Herbst 2018 mit dem Absolute Teamsport Store in Ruppach-Goldhausen und zweier weiterer Eröffnungen im April 2019 in Münster und Homberg-Efze, folgte ebenfalls im April 2019 die Eröffnung des ersten Absolute Run Stores in Bonn. Das Konzept stärkt die Qualitätsstrategie von SPORT 2000 und rückt die engere Zusammenarbeit zwischen Händler, Verbund und Lieferanten in den Fokus. Die europaweiten SPORT 2000 Händler werden durch Absolute optimal von SPORT 2000 in ihrer Tätigkeit unterstützt und können sich somit auf ihre Kernkompetenzen – individuelle Beratung und Verkauf – konzentrieren.  Mit der sukzessiven Erweiterung des Absolute Angebots forciert SPORT 2000 ihre Zukunftsstrategie 2021.

Länderübergreifende Arbeitsgruppen als Erfolgsfaktor

Um das Ziel SPORT 2000 langfristig zu einer integrierten, vertikal orientierten Retail Service Organisation zu machen, werden zukünftig die Stärken der einzelnen Länder noch intensiver als bisher gebündelt und der Austausch gezielt forciert. „Unser klares Ziel ist, SPORT 2000 International auf allen Ebenen zu stärken und Synergien zwischen den Ländern optimal zu nützen. Unsere Länder verfügen über regionale, stark ausgeprägte Kompetenzen und fundierte Kenntnisse über Markt und Kunden. Der Know-how –Transfer durch gemeinsame, internationale Projekte ist unsere Stärke als internationaler Verband. Er unterstützt uns dabei bestehende Geschäftsprozesse weiter zu optimieren und Märkte noch besser zu verstehen. Sie ermöglichen es aber auch, neue Formate zu entwickeln, von denen alle in der Verbundgruppe und schlussendlich die Kunden in ganz Europa profitieren“, sieht Gosau in der länderübergreifenden Vernetzung von Kompetenzen einen wichtigen Erfolgsfaktor. In diesem Zusammenhang forcierte SPORT 2000 International 2018 auch die länderübergreifende Datenanalyse. Damit kommt SPORT 2000 dem Ziel, interne Prozesse sowie Marktentwicklungen genauer zu analysieren und länderübergreifend optimieren, einen großen Schritt näher. Durch eine Auswertung dieser Daten kann das Kundenverhalten detaillierter erfasst und schneller auf Sortiments-entscheidungen reagiert werden. „Die Konsolidierung der POS-Daten auf internationaler Ebene wurde intern kräftig angeschoben. Wir werden bereits Ende des Jahres eine internationale Datenbasis lancieren. Die Informationen aus den länderübergreifenden POS-Daten ermöglichen es uns, unseren Händlern zukünftig einen noch höheren Servicegrad in der Sortimentsgestaltung zu bieten und die Kunden im Geschäft zu überzeugen“, so Gosau. An der Realisierung einer einheitlichen Omni-Channel-Lösung für die SPORT 2000 Händler in den Kernmärkten wird ebenfalls in den nächsten Jahren intensiv gearbeitet.

Aufsichtsrat bestätigt

Im Rahmen der jährlichen Generalversammlung wurde Dr. Holger Schwarting, Vorstand von SPORT 2000 Österreich, erneut als Aufsichtsratsvorsitzender von SPORT 2000 International bestätigt. Der Aufsichtsrat setzt sich nach der Generalversammlung wie folgt zusammen: Vorsitzender Dr. Holger Schwarting, Österreich; stellvertretender Vorsitzender Matthias Grevener, Deutschland; Marius Rovers, Niederlande; Jean-Louis Parent, Frankreich und Hans-Hermann Deters; Deutschland.

SPORT 2000 International

SPORT 2000 International ist europaweit die zweitgrößte Einkaufskooperation selbstständiger Sporthändler mit 3.555 Geschäften in 23 Ländern. Diese beschäftigen mehr als 35.000 Mitarbeiter. Das Sporthandelsunternehmen erwirtschaftete 2018 einen Gesamtumsatz von 3,9 Mrd. Euro.

 

Rückfragen:                         

Impuls Kommunikation | Irina Haas

irina@impulskommunikation.at | Mobil: +43 676.95 05 311
                                                                                                                       

 

 

ANMELDEN ZUM PRESSEVERTEILER

Sehr gerne nehmen wir Sie in unseren Presseverteiler auf und schicken Ihnen je nach Wunsch unternehmens- und/oder themenspezifische Presseinformationen zu.

Anmeldung
ANMELDEN ZUM PRESSEVERTEILER

Hoppla, da fehlt noch was...

Wir nehmen Medienverteiler sehr persönlich und möchten Sie daher gerne mit Ihrem vollen Namen ansprechen. Bitte die Felder entsprechend ausfüllen.

PRESSEKONTAKT

Impuls Kommunikation
Scharitzerstraße 12, 4020 Linz
Telefon +43 732 234940
Fax +43 732 234940-90
office@impulskommunikation.at