So that you can experience our website optimally, our website uses cookies. When you press "OK", you are accepting our use of cookies. use of cookies

Media Room

back
01/2020

Wolfgang Schnellbügel has died—an obituary by Peter Franz Thürl

 

Wolfgang Schnellbügel made lasting contributions to the promotion of international sports retail outlets and the international sports goods industry. He was a multilingual MBA graduate, certified wholesale trader, and export merchant who made the goal of his work with Sport 2000 to represent, strengthen, and expand the vital interests of independent European sports goods retailers at home and abroad through dialog with the relevant industries, and to each party’s benefit.

After working in China from 1984 to 1998, Wolfgang Schnellbügel held various positions at Sunflex Sport GmbH + Co. KG in Nuremberg, finally as the head of marketing and sales. He was the division manager for Nord-West-Ring International in Mainhausen from 1999 until February 2001. After a brief period as managing director of Sport 2000 Deutschland, he continued working in Mainhausen as the managing director of Sport 2000 International and Sport 2000 International Marketing AG from 2006 until stepping down in 2015.

The funeral was held on January 6, 2020, at the cemetery at his French residence. There, Marius Rovers and Andreas Rudolf of Sport 2000 International spoke along with Robbert De Kock, president and CEO of the World Federation of the Sporting Goods Industry, about Wolfgang Schnellbügel’s significant achievements in developing and expanding Sport 2000 to make it Europe’s second-largest associated group of sports retail outlets. They also recognized his service as Honorary Director of the Board for the World Federation of the Sporting Goods Industry, a position he held until his death.

Wolfgang Schnellbügel was an influential figure in the international sports goods sector. We cherish his legacy and will always remember his lasting impact on the industry. Our deepest sympathies are with his wife, Christine, and his son, Frank, who were lovingly by his side during his four-year battle with ALS, a disease that attacks the muscles.

SUBSCRIPTION TO PRESS MAILING LIST

We would be pleased to add you to our press mailing list and will send you the requested press informations.

Registration
SUBSCRIPTION TO PRESS MAILING LIST

Oops, there is something missing..

As we take our press mailing list really personally, wie would like to address you with your full name. Please fill in all the fields.

PRESS CONTACT

Impuls Kommunikation
Scharitzerstraße 12, 4020 Linz
Telefon +43 732 234940
Fax +43 732 234940-90
office@impulskommunikation.at

Damit Sie unsere Webseite optimal erleben können, verwendet diese Webseite Cookies. Durch klicken auf "OK" stimmen Sie unserer Verwendung von Cookies zu. Verwendung von Cookies

Media Room

zurück
01/2020

Wolfgang Schnellbügel ist tot - Ein Nachruf von Peter Franz Thürl

 

Wolfgang Schnellbügel hat sich um die Förderung des internationalen Sportfachhandels und der internationalen Sportartikelindustrie gleichermaßen hoch verdient gemacht. Für ihn als polyglotten Diplomkaufmann und gelernten Groß- und Außenhandelskaufmann war es eine Lebensaufgabe, im Rahmen seiner Tätigkeit für Sport 2000 national und international die vitalen Interessen selbstständiger Sportkaufleute in Europa im Dialog mit der einschlägigen Industrie zum gegenseitigen Vorteil beider zu vertreten, auszubauen und zu festigen.

Wolfgang Schnellbügel durchlief nach einem Arbeitsaufenthalt in China von 1984 bis 1998 verschiedene Positionen bei der Firma Sunflex Sport GmbH+Co KG in Nürnberg, zuletzt als Leiter Marketing und Vertrieb. Von 1999 bis Februar 2001 war er Geschäftsbereichsleiter beim Nord-West-Ring International in Mainhausen, um dann nach einer  kurzen  Periode als Geschäftsführer von Sport 2000 Deutschland von 2006 an bis zu seinem Ausscheiden im Jahr 2015 Geschäftsführer bei Sport 2000 International und der Sport 2000 International Marketing AG in Mainhausen zu werden.

Bei der Trauerfeier am 6. Januar 2020 am Friedhof seines französischen Wohnorts würdigten im Auftrag von Sport 2000 International Marius Rovers und Andreas Rudolf sowie auch Robbert de Kock als Präsident des Weltverbandes der Sportartikelindustrie die herausragenden beruflichen Leistungen von Wolfgang Schnellbügel für den Auf- und Ausbau von Sport 2000 zur zweitstärksten Verbundgruppe des Sportfachhandels in Europa und im Board des Weltverbandes der Sportartikelindustrie, dem er als Honorary Director bis zu seinem Tod angehörte.

Wolfgang Schnellbügel war ein Großer in der internationalen Sportartikelbranche, dessen Wirken in der Branche und dessen Vermächtnis wir alle in ehrender Erinnerung behalten werden. Unser Mitgefühl und unsere Trauer gilt seiner Frau Christine und seinem Sohn Frank, die ihm in den letzten Jahren seiner sehr schweren Krankheit mit sehr viel Mitgefühl zur Seite gestanden haben. Er litt seit vier Jahren am Lou-Gehrig-Syndrom, einer Art von Muskelschwäche.

ANMELDEN ZUM PRESSEVERTEILER

Sehr gerne nehmen wir Sie in unseren Presseverteiler auf und schicken Ihnen je nach Wunsch unternehmens- und/oder themenspezifische Presseinformationen zu.

Anmeldung
ANMELDEN ZUM PRESSEVERTEILER

Hoppla, da fehlt noch was...

Wir nehmen Medienverteiler sehr persönlich und möchten Sie daher gerne mit Ihrem vollen Namen ansprechen. Bitte die Felder entsprechend ausfüllen.

PRESSEKONTAKT

Impuls Kommunikation
Scharitzerstraße 12, 4020 Linz
Telefon +43 732 234940
Fax +43 732 234940-90
office@impulskommunikation.at