So that you can experience our website optimally, our website uses cookies. When you press "OK", you are accepting our use of cookies. use of cookies

Media Room

back
06/2020

Digital General Assembly: The human touch proves a key factor for success

This year, due to COVID 19, the SPORT 2000 International General Assembly was held virtually for the first time ever. SPORT 2000 can look back on a successful 2019 business year and achieved gross retail sales of EUR 4.94 billion. The focus remains set on intensive cross-border collaboration. Dr Holger Schwarting was once again confirmed as Chairman of the Advisory Board.

COVID-19 has shaped not only the last few weeks, but also the SPORT 2000 International General Assembly. On 20 March SPORT 2000 took a first virtual look back at its successful 2019 business year, a year that saw SPORT 2000 International, with its 3,950 sites across 23 countries, generate EUR 4.94 billion in gross retail sales. This constitutes year-on-year sales growth of almost eight percent. SPORT 2000 currently sees that the international sports sector is facing significant challenges, but also that it is harbouring numerous opportunities. The crisis strengthens and accelerats existing trends and projects. For example, SPORT 2000 has in the last few months succeeded in advancing its digitalisation on multiple levels, also implementing online shops in Germany and Austria more quickly than planned. While the company’s current focus is on overcoming the crisis, its clear focus for the future continues to be on strengthening cross-national strategic cooperation with a view to supporting all SPORT 2000 retailers. “According to a recent study, around 80 percent of Europeans have a pessimistic outlook on the economy. The market needs a positive signal now. Most people see exercise and health as closely interconnected. This is a clear opportunity for the sports sector. All the good work we’ve put in over the last few years stands us in good stead, particularly in the current situation”, explained Margit Gosau, managing director of SPORT 2000 International and SPORT 2000 GmbH in relation to the study recently conducted by McKinsey[1], adding that “We are confident that, with our mindset, which focuses on collaborative and cordial partnerships with dealers and other partners, we will prevail in these challenging times.” The reopening of the stores after the lock-down was extremely positive for the sports sector in some countries. The further development of SPORT 2000 is, however, clearly dependent on the purchasing behaviour of the people in Europe. Gosau summed it up by saying, “Consumer behaviour is under strain throughout Europe. Around one-third of people in Europe anticipate having less money to live on, which in turn heavily impacts trade. Not every country is the same in this respect, which means that each country group has a different set of challenges to face. Our clear priority – here, at this international level – is therefore on finding country-specific solutions so as to provide the best possible support.”

The human touch – partnership and solidarity help in these times of crisis

The crisis has hit the entire sector unexpectedly hard. The SPORT 2000 approach is much the same as that adopted several years ago, that is, of ensuring collaborative relations with dealers, suppliers and partners, both on a national and an international level. “As an association, we bring together brand partners, suppliers and dealers. Together with the task force set up at the beginning of the crisis, we developed an action plan that took the interests of all partners into account. This is now helping us prevail in the crisis,” states Gosau, adding, “We have received positive feedback from all sides. I’m very pleased to hear how important everyone considers the idea of alliance. This is what we at SPORT 2000 believe in, what we base our business on.”

Brick-and-mortar retail – people and experience

Among the organisation's central tasks – alongside those of brand strategy, strategic partnerships, brand positioning and development, international licensing, and the expansion and further development of own brands – is the promotion of international concepts. The current market situation serves to confirm SPORT 2000’s approach of further developing retail formats for specialists and generalists with a view to providing customers a new shopping experience with added value. “Challenging times like these often make the need for a new type of experience apparent. Around 23 percent of the people in Europe state that they will in future buy more in brick-and-mortar stores to support regional distributors. These customers need to be offered an added-value shopping experience that the digital world cannot offer. Customers tend to spend more time weighing up investments in things like a new bike or a pair of running shoes. Expert, individualised advisory services with a human touch are therefore gaining in importance,” explains Gosau. Over the course of the last year, five stores opened under the ABSOLUTE brand name in Germany and Austria. These highly specialised running and team-sport stores offer customers individualised advisory services and exclusive access to products of all top brands. Further ABSOLUTE store openings are planned to take place this year in Germany, Austria, the Netherlands, Belgium and the United Arab Emirates. The first generalist stores based on the new international concept are expected to open in 2021 in Germany and France.

Advisory Board confirmed

For the eighth year in a row, Dr Holger Schwarting, member of the Management Board of SPORT 2000 Austria, was confirmed as chairman of the Advisory Board. “I am honoured that the Advisory Board has placed its trust in me. We have difficult times ahead and a diverse range of tasks to tackle. However, over the past few years we have succeeded in developing a sound foundation, which is now serving to bolster us,” explained Dr Schwarting with optimism. As of the close of the General Assembly, the Advisory Board is made up of the following persons: Chair Dr Holger Schwarting, Austria; Deputy Chair Matthias Grevener, Germany; Marius Rovers, the Netherlands; Jean-Louis Parent, France; and Hans-Hermann Deters, Germany.

SPORT 2000 International

SPORT 2000 International is Europe’s second largest trade organisation for independent sports retailers and has 3,950 stores in 23 countries. The sports trading company generated sales totalling EUR 4.9 billion in 2019.

Press contact:

Impuls Kommunikation | Irina Haas

irina@impulskommunikation.at | Mobile: +43 676 95 05 311
                                                                                                                       

 

[1] McKinsey & Company (2020): Covid-19 response in Apparel & Fashion. Consumer Insights Injection. Edition IV, April 6th.

SUBSCRIPTION TO PRESS MAILING LIST

We would be pleased to add you to our press mailing list and will send you the requested press informations.

Registration
SUBSCRIPTION TO PRESS MAILING LIST

Oops, there is something missing..

As we take our press mailing list really personally, wie would like to address you with your full name. Please fill in all the fields.

PRESS CONTACT

Impuls Kommunikation
Scharitzerstraße 12, 4020 Linz
Telefon +43 732 234940
Fax +43 732 234940-90
office@impulskommunikation.at

Damit Sie unsere Webseite optimal erleben können, verwendet diese Webseite Cookies. Durch klicken auf "OK" stimmen Sie unserer Verwendung von Cookies zu. Verwendung von Cookies

Media Room

zurück
06/2020

Digitale Generalversammlung: „Human Touch“ beweist sich als Erfolgsfaktor

Die diesjährige Generalversammlung von SPORT 2000 International fand aufgrund von Covid-19 erstmals virtuell statt. Gemeinsam blickte man auf ein erfolgreiches Geschäftsjahr 2019 zurück – mit 4,94 Milliarden Euro erwirtschafteten Retail Gross Sales. Der Fokus liegt weiterhin auf einer intensiven länderübergreifenden Zusammenarbeit. Dr. Holger Schwarting wurde erneut als Aufsichtsratsvorsitzender bestätigt.

Covid-19 prägte nicht nur die letzten Monate, sondern auch die Generalversammlung von SPORT 2000 International. Erstmals blickte man am 20. März virtuell auf das erfolgreiche vergangene Geschäftsjahr 2019 zurück. SPORT 2000 International erwirtschaftete 2019 mit aktuell 3.950 Standorten in 23 Ländern 4,94 Milliarden Euro Retail Gross Sales. Das entspricht einem Umsatzwachstum von knapp acht Prozent zum Vorjahr. Aktuell sieht SPORT 2000 den internationalen Sportfachhandel mit großen Herausforderungen, aber auch zahlreichen Chancen konfrontiert. Die Krise verstärkte und beschleunigte bereits bestehende Trends und Projekte. So trieb SPORT 2000 die Digitalisierung auf allen Ebenen in den letzten Monaten deutlich voran und setzte erfolgreich Onlineshops in Deutschland und Österreich schneller als geplant um. Steht im Moment die Bewältigung der Krise im Vordergrund, so liegt für die Zukunft weiterhin ein klarer Fokus auf der Stärkung der länderübergreifenden strategischen Zusammenarbeit zur Unterstützung aller SPORT 2000 Händler. „Rund 80 Prozent der Europäer blicken laut einer aktuellen Studie den wirtschaftlichen Entwicklungen pessimistisch entgegen. Der Markt braucht jetzt ein positives Signal. Sport und Gesundheit stehen für die Menschen in einer starken Verbindung. Das ist eine klare Chance für den Sportfachhandel. Die gute Vorarbeit der letzten Jahre hilft uns als Verband besonders jetzt, mit der aktuellen Lage gut umzugehen“, bezieht sich Margit Gosau, Geschäftsführerin SPORT 2000 International und SPORT 2000 GmbH, auf die aktuell durchgeführte Studie von McKinsey[1] und ergänzt: „Mit dem von uns an den Tag gelegten Mindset, das einen partnerschaftlichen und menschlichen Umgang mit Händlern und Partnern in den Vordergrund stellt, sind wir zuversichtlich, gut durch diese herausfordernde Zeit zu kommen.“ Die Wiedereröffnung der Handelsgeschäfte nach dem Lockdown war für den Sport in einigen Ländern äußerst positiv. Die weitere Entwicklung von SPORT 2000 ist jedoch klar von dem zukünftigen Kaufverhalten der Menschen in ganz Europa abhängig, bringt Gosau die kommenden Herausforderungen auf den Punkt: „Das Konsumverhalten in ganz Europa steht unter Druck. Rund ein Drittel der Menschen in Europa erwarten, von geringeren Einkünften leben zu müssen – das trifft den Handel stark. In diesem Punkt ist nicht jedes Land gleich und jeder Landesverband sieht sich mit unterschiedlichen Herausforderungen konfrontiert. Hier auf internationaler Ebene länderspezifische Lösungen zu finden, um bestmöglich zu unterstützen, ist im Moment unsere klare Priorität.“

„Human Touch“ – partnerschaftlicher Zusammenhalt hilft in der Krise

Die Krise hat die gesamte Branche mit einer unerwarteten Wucht getroffen. Der Sportfachhandelsverband SPORT 2000 setzte auf den bereits vor Jahren eingeschlagenen Weg eines partnerschaftlichen Umgangs mit Händlern, Lieferanten und Partnern auf nationaler wie auch internationaler Ebene. „Als Verband bringen wir Markenpartner, Lieferanten und Händler zusammen. Mit der gleich zu Beginn der Krise gebildeten Taskforce entwickelten wir einen Fahrplan, der die Interessen aller Partner berücksichtigt. Das hilft uns jetzt, gut durch die Krise zu kommen“, betont Gosau und ergänzt: „Die Rückmeldungen waren von allen Seiten sehr positiv. Ich freue mich, zu erleben, dass das Miteinander zählt. Daran glauben wir bei SPORT 2000. Darauf bauen wir auf.“

Stationärer Handel braucht „People und Experience“

Im zentralen Aufgabenbereich des Dachverbands liegt neben der Markenstrategie, den strategischen Partnerschaften, der Markenpositionierung und -entwicklung, der internationalen Lizenzierung sowie der Expansion und Weiterentwicklung der Eigenmarken auch das Forcieren internationaler Konzepte. Die aktuelle Situation am Markt bestätigt SPORT 2000 klar in der Weiterentwicklung der Retail-Formate für Spezialisten und Generalisten, um Kunden ein neues Einkaufserlebnis mit Mehrwert zu bieten. „Gerade herausfordernde Zeiten, wie wir sie im Moment durchleben, zeigen, dass es ein neues Erlebnis im stationären Handel braucht. Rund 23 Prozent der Menschen in Europa geben an, zukünftig verstärkt stationär einzukaufen, um die regionalen Händler zu unterstützen. Der Kunde verlangt dabei jedoch auch ein Einkaufserlebnis mit Mehrwert, das ihm die digitale Welt nicht bieten kann. Investitionen – wie ein neues Bike oder Laufschuhe – werden von Kunden stärker überlegt und abgewogen. Individuelle und kompetente Beratung mit dem gewissen ‚Human Touch‘ gewinnt daher weiter an Bedeutung“, so Gosau. Unter dem ABSOLUTE-Dach eröffneten im Laufe des letzten Jahres insgesamt fünf Stores in Deutschland und Österreich. In den hoch spezialisierten Running- und Teamsport-Stores erwartet die Kunden individuelle Beratung und ein exklusiver Zugang zu Produkten von allen Topmarken. Für dieses Jahr sind weitere ABSOLUTE-Eröffnungen in Deutschland, Österreich, den Niederlanden, Belgien und den Vereinigten Arabischen Emiraten geplant. Die ersten Generalisten-Stores mit einem neuen internationalen Konzept öffnen voraussichtlich 2021 in Deutschland und Frankreich ihre Pforten

Aufsichtsrat bestätigt

Das achte Jahr in Folge wurde Dr. Holger Schwarting, Vorstand von SPORT 2000 Österreich, als Aufsichtsratsvorsitzender bestätigt. „Ich freue mich sehr über das entgegengebrachte Vertrauen des Aufsichtsrats. Es liegt keine einfache Zeit vor uns und die Aufgaben sind vielfältig. Wir haben jedoch in den letzten Jahren eine gute Basis geschaffen, die uns jetzt den Rücken stärkt“, zeigt sich Dr. Schwarting positiv gestimmt. Der Aufsichtsrat setzt sich nach der Generalversammlung wie folgt zusammen: Vorsitzender Dr. Holger Schwarting, Österreich; stellvertretender Vorsitzender Matthias Grevener, Deutschland; Marius Rovers, Niederlande; Jean-Louis Parent, Frankreich; Hans-Hermann Deters, Deutschland.

 

SPORT 2000 International

SPORT 2000 International ist europaweit die zweitgrößte Handelsorganisation selbstständiger Sporthändler mit 3.950 Geschäften in 23 Ländern. Das Sporthandelsunternehmen erwirtschaftete 2019 einen Gesamtumsatz von 4,9 Mrd. Euro.

 

Rückfragen:                         

Impuls Kommunikation | Irina Haas

irina@impulskommunikation.at | Mobil: +43 676 9505311
                                                                                                                       

 

 

[1] McKinsey & Company (2020): Covid-19 response in Apparel & Fashion. Consumer Insights Injection. Edition IV, April 6th.

ANMELDEN ZUM PRESSEVERTEILER

Sehr gerne nehmen wir Sie in unseren Presseverteiler auf und schicken Ihnen je nach Wunsch unternehmens- und/oder themenspezifische Presseinformationen zu.

Anmeldung
ANMELDEN ZUM PRESSEVERTEILER

Hoppla, da fehlt noch was...

Wir nehmen Medienverteiler sehr persönlich und möchten Sie daher gerne mit Ihrem vollen Namen ansprechen. Bitte die Felder entsprechend ausfüllen.

PRESSEKONTAKT

Impuls Kommunikation
Scharitzerstraße 12, 4020 Linz
Telefon +43 732 234940
Fax +43 732 234940-90
office@impulskommunikation.at