Media Room

back
03/2021

Erika Schuh displays agility in times of crisis as the new president of SGI-DHO.

Erika Schuh has been the new president of SGI-DHO since the beginning of 2020. Her first year in this position was defined by the coronavirus pandemic and demanded agility from all stakeholders in the organisation. Together in a task force comprising associations and industry partners, major steps were taken in further developing the FEDAS product classification key. For instance, the bike category was completely overhauled and modernised, and the new category “virus protection equipment” was added.

The challenges posed by the pandemic are having a tremendous impact on data management in sports retail. This is primarily the claim of the Sporting Goods Industry – Data Harmonization Organization (SGI-DHO). Its main task is to develop, harmonise, and maintain commercial codes that are used by the sporting goods industry when exchanging and analysing data. Erika Schuh was unanimously chosen as the new president of the organisation. For the data specialist who works as a data analyst at SPORT 2000 International, this is a challenge she is happy to accept: “I am delighted that the Board has placed its trust in me to shape the organisation as president of SGI-DHO. For associations like SPORT 2000 and Intersport, the standardisation of data is an important issue, since different merchandise management systems still struggle to harmonise data in a way that makes it truly comparable and analysable,” explains Schuh, referring to the difficult environment in the industry. She adds: “This problem concerns all stakeholders in sports retail. That is why we are together striving to standardise the data, such as by consistently updating the product classifications in the FEDAS product classification key. Here we have been able to set important milestones in the last year by expanding and modernising categories.” Along with Schuh, Maria Seljeson (INTERSPORT International Corp.) also joined the organisation as the new Back Office manager. In cooperation with industry partners including Nike, Tatonka, Puma, adidas, EOG, Amer Group, Service providers (B24) the sports retail groups SPORT 2000 and Intersport are working consistently towards the continuous further development of the FEDAS product classification key for sports retail.

Specialisation calls for the modernisation of FEDAS

The sports market was more dynamic in 2020 than ever before. People’s health awareness and shopping behaviour are changing for the long term. People are engaging in more sports and demanding more specialised products. As a result, FEDAS in the bike category was adjusted to the developments in the bike sector already at the beginning of 2020. “The bike category had to be completely overhauled and modernised. One of the main reasons for this was the increasing specialisation of retailers in this area as well as the growing e-bike segment. The new classification covers all different types of bike and therefore allows them to be analysed more closely,” emphasises Schuh. Another essential change to FEDAS is the new product classification “virus protection equipment”, since more and more retailers are also offering protective equipment against COVID-19 in their stores.

Goal for 2021: more-active exchange and higher acceptance

In the current year 2021, Schuh seeks to achieve more active and collaborative exchange with additional organisations, such as the npd Group, in order to get a strong partner in sports retail tracking and sports industry research on board. “Our goal is to achieve higher acceptance of the product classification key among retailers and the industry. The more the product classification key is actively used, the better the data quality becomes. This will only be possible with active collaborative exchange at all levels,” says Schuh. Focus also lies on the further development of FEDAS in the categories “training/fitness” and “travel/outdoor lifestyle”.

About SGI-DHO

SGI-DHO represents the interests of different stakeholders in the sporting goods industry (retailers, brands, service providers, and third parties). Its main task is the development, harmonisation, and maintenance of commercial codes, which are used by the sporting goods industry when exchanging and analysing data. The focus is set on codes that have not already been standardised by international trade organisations. In addition to the FEDAS product classification key that was already developed back in 1989, and which is used by many stakeholders of the sporting goods industry, SGI-DHO has developed codes for sizes, colours, age, and gender and establishes new codes and standards at the request of the industry.

You can find further information at www.sgidho.com

Press contact

Irina Haas
irina@impulskommunikation.at | Mobile: +43 6769505311

SUBSCRIPTION TO PRESS MAILING LIST

We would be pleased to add you to our press mailing list and will send you the requested press informations.

Registration
SUBSCRIPTION TO PRESS MAILING LIST

Oops, there is something missing..

As we take our press mailing list really personally, wie would like to address you with your full name. Please fill in all the fields.

PRESS CONTACT

Impuls Kommunikation
Scharitzerstraße 12, 4020 Linz
Telefon +43 732 234940
Fax +43 732 234940-90
office@impulskommunikation.at

Media Room

zurück
03/2021

Erika Schuh beweist als neue Präsidentin der SGI-DHO Agilität in Krisenzeiten

Seit Anfang 2020 ist Erika Schuh die neue Präsidentin der SGI-DHO. Ihr erstes Jahr im Amt war stark von der Corona-Pandemie geprägt und forderte ein agiles Handeln aller Beteiligten der Organisation. Gemeinsam setzte man in einer Taskforce, bestehend aus Verbänden und Industriepartnern, wesentliche Schritte in der Weiterentwicklung des FEDAS-Warenschlüssels. So wurde unter anderem die Kategorie „Bike“ komplett überarbeitet und modernisiert sowie die neue Kategorie „Virus protection equipment“ hinzugefügt.

Die Herausforderungen der Pandemie nehmen starken Einfluss auf das Datenmanagement im Sportfachhandel. Das fordert vor allem die Sporting Goods Industry Data Harmonization Organization, kurz SGI-DHO. Deren Hauptaufgabe ist die Entwicklung, Harmonisierung und Pflege von Handelscodes, die von der Sportartikelindustrie beim Austausch und bei der Analyse von Daten verwendet werden. Erika Schuh wurde einstimmig als neue Präsidentin der Organisation gewählt. Für die Datenspezialistin, die als Data Analyst bei SPORT 2000 International tätig ist, eine Herausforderung, die sie gerne annimmt: „Es freut mich sehr, dass das Board mir das Vertrauen entgegenbringt, als Präsidentin der SGI-DHO die Organisation mitzugestalten. Verbänden wie SPORT 2000 und Intersport ist die Vereinheitlichung von Daten ein großes Anliegen, da unterschiedliche Warenwirtschaftssysteme es nach wie vor erschweren, Daten so zu harmonisieren, dass sie auch wirklich vergleichbar und analysefähig sind“, hebt Schuh das schwierige Umfeld in der Branche hervor und ergänzt: „Dieses Problem beschäftigt alle Teilnehmer im Sportfachhandel. Daher versuchen wir gemeinsam, die Daten zu standardisieren, wie zum Beispiel durch die konsequente Aktualisierung der Produktklassifizierungen im Warengruppenschlüssel FEDAS. Hier konnten wir mit der gezielten Erweiterung und Modernisierung von Kategorien vergangenes Jahr wichtige Meilensteine setzen.“ Neben Schuh trat auch Maria Seljeson (INTERSPORT International Corp.) als neue Backoffice Managerin der Organisation bei. Gemeinsam mit Industriepartnern wie Nike, Tatonka, Puma, adidas, EOG, Amer Group und B24 arbeiten die Sportfachhandelsverbände SPORT 2000 und Intersport konsequent an der ständigen Weiterentwicklung des Warenschlüssels FEDAS für den Sportfachhandel.

Spezialisierung erfordert Modernisierung des FEDAS

Der Sportmarkt war 2020 in Bewegung wie nie zuvor. Das Gesundheitsbewusstsein und Einkaufsverhalten der Menschen haben sich nachhaltig verändert. Es wird mehr Sport getrieben und dabei werden spezialisiertere Produkte nachgefragt. So wurde der FEDAS in der Kategorie „Bike“ bereits zu Beginn von 2020 an die Entwicklungen im Bike-Sektor angepasst. „Die Kategorie Bike musste komplett überarbeitet und modernisiert werden. Ein Hauptgrund dafür ist die immer stärkere Spezialisierung der Händler in diesem Bereich und das immer stärker werdende Segment E-Bike. In der neuen Klassifizierung lassen sich alle unterschiedlichen Fahrradtypen klassifizieren und somit auch genauer analysieren“, betont Schuh. Eine weitere wesentliche Erneuerung des FEDAS ist die neue Warengruppe „Virus protection equipment“, da immer mehr Händler auch Schutzausrüstung gegen COVID-19 in ihren Geschäften anbieten.

Ziel 2021: aktiver Austausch und höhere Akzeptanz

Im laufenden Jahr 2021 strebt Schuh einen aktiveren und partnerschaftlichen Austausch mit weiteren Organisationen an. „Unser Ziel ist es, eine höhere Akzeptanz des Warenschlüssels bei Händlern und der Industrie zu erreichen. Je mehr den Warenschlüssel aktiv verwenden, umso besser wird die Datenqualität. Das gelingt nur mit einem aktiven, partnerschaftlichen Austausch auf allen Ebenen“, so Schuh. Zudem liegt der Fokus auf der Weiterentwicklung des FEDAS in den Kategorien „Training/Fitness“ sowie „Travel/Outdoor Lifestyle“.

Über die SGI-DHO

Die SGI-DHO vertritt die Interessen verschiedener Gruppen in der Sportartikelbranche (Einzelhändler, Marken, Dienstleister und Dritte). Hauptaufgabe ist die Entwicklung, Harmonisierung und Pflege von Handelscodes, die von der Sportartikelindustrie beim Austausch und bei der Analyse von Daten verwendet werden. Fokussiert wird auf Codes, die bisher noch nicht von internationalen Handelsorganisationen standardisiert wurden. Zusätzlich zu dem bereits 1989 entwickelten FEDAS-Produktklassifizierungsschlüssel, der von vielen Interessengruppen der Sportartikelbranche verwendet wird, hat die SGI-DHO Codes für Größen, Farben, Alter und Geschlecht entwickelt und passt diese ständig an die Entwicklungen der Branche an.

Mehr Informationen unter: www.sgidho.com

Pressekontakt

Irina Haas
irina@impulskommunikation.at | Mobil: +43 676 9505311

ANMELDEN ZUM PRESSEVERTEILER

Sehr gerne nehmen wir Sie in unseren Presseverteiler auf und schicken Ihnen je nach Wunsch unternehmens- und/oder themenspezifische Presseinformationen zu.

Anmeldung
ANMELDEN ZUM PRESSEVERTEILER

Hoppla, da fehlt noch was...

Wir nehmen Medienverteiler sehr persönlich und möchten Sie daher gerne mit Ihrem vollen Namen ansprechen. Bitte die Felder entsprechend ausfüllen.

PRESSEKONTAKT

Impuls Kommunikation
Scharitzerstraße 12, 4020 Linz
Telefon +43 732 234940
Fax +43 732 234940-90
office@impulskommunikation.at