Media Room

back
06/2022

As ONE SPORT 2000 into the future of international sports retailing

The sports retail group closes the 2021 financial year with record sales of 5.3 billion euros and confirms its leading position in sports retail in the DACH region. The goal of the specialist sports retail group is to become more visible worldwide as ONE SPORT 2000. Synergies strengthen the entire sports retail group with regard to upcoming challenges such as digitalization and globalization. Roland Felder, Managing Director of the Swiss SPORT 2000 Organisation, was elected as a new member of the Supervisory Board.

Global trends such as digitalization or globalization and resulting changes such as new forms of customer behavior and increased competitive pressure are shaping the sports retail industry as never before. "Specialist sports retail must now gain speed and develop new approaches in order to remain successful in the future," Margit Gosau, CEO of SPORT 2000 International and SPORT 2000 GmbH, is convinced. The sports retail community is consistently pushing the clear goal of creating a uniform overall image of SPORT 2000 in all countries. "It is often important to break away from old patterns in order to realize the big picture. At SPORT 2000, we have recognized that we need to move even closer together as an international sports retail community in order to be perceived worldwide as ONE SPORT 2000. This is the only way we can master upcoming challenges together and successfully move into the future of sports retail," says Gosau, adding, "With the new, international "Welcome Home" campaign and the global claim "Home of Experts," we already took a first, important step toward ONE SPORT 2000 in May 2022. We are thus positioning ourselves in all SPORT 2000 countries with a uniform brand presence." Further projects are planned for 2022 and 2023 to unite SPORT 2000 across national borders.

Market leadership in the DACH region

SPORT 2000 International's business vision of being the market leader with a clear positioning in high-quality performance sports succeeded in three countries. SPORT 2000 Germany, SPORT 2000 Austria and the Swiss SPORT 2000 organization confirmed their leading positions in sports retailing during the past financial year. SPORT 2000 achieved gross retail sales of 4.087 billion Euros in the DACH region in 2021 with 1,454 partner companies and over 2,268 stores. Gosau cites the strategic focus of recent years, across the entire SPORT 2000 countries, as success factors: "The focus on cross-country collaborations, international cooperation with the industry, progressive expansion and specialization at the highest level, coupled with our human touch, has once again proven to be very successful in a very challenging market environment. This is a path that we are consistently expanding and developing on an international level," says Gosau.

SPORT 2000 International records sales growth of 22.5 percent

The sports retail community will look back on a challenging and at the same time very successful business year at this year's General Assembly in May 2022. After two digital General Assemblies in 2020 and 2021, this year's General Assembly was again held in presence in Mainhausen. With currently 3,556 locations in 25 countries, SPORT 2000 International generated gross retail sales of 5.3 billion euros in 2021. This corresponds to a sales growth of 22.5 percent. With HV Group as a new partner, SPORT 2000 International 2021 is also expanding its position in international sports retail. In Madagascar and Mauritius, the focus will be on building up quality specialist sports retail with a total of seven SPORT 2000 stores in the new SPORT 2000 Multicategory format.

ABSOLUTE: Specialization at the highest level

According to Gosau, one of the success factors is the clear focus on specialization. The establishment of the ABOLUTE specialization formats continues in international sports retail. In February 2022, the seventh ABSOLUTE RUN store already opened in Minden, Germany. The expansion of ABSOLUTE TEAMSPORT also continues to progress with two new openings in March 2022. There are now seven ABSOLUTE TEAMSPORT stores in Germany, two in Austria, two in the Netherlands and two in Belgium. SPORT 2000 is planning additional ABSOLUTE RUN and ABSOLUTE TEAMSPORT store openings in Germany, Belgium, Switzerland, Hungary and Bulgaria later this year. "The rapid, international expansion confirms that ABSOLUTE FORMATS are the future of sports retailing," says Gosau, emphasizing the relevance of these global specialization concepts. 

Future Agenda: Digitization and POS Data

The last two years provided a real push for digitization in sports retail. Even during the global lockdowns and store closures, SPORT 2000 developed functional online solutions to link online and offline retail even more closely. According to Gosau, driving digitization further forward at SPORT 2000 is one of the most important agendas for the future: "Whether online or offline retail, both forms of distribution need strategic information management to work efficiently. This summer we will be launching a joint SPORT 2000 database, in which international POS data will be continuously updated and analyzed. This will enable us to react to trends and changes at an early stage and generate added value for our strategic partners," says Margit Gosau.

Roland Felder as new member of the supervisory board of SPORT 2000 International

The Managing Director of the Swiss SPORT 2000 organization, Roland Felder, was elected as a new member of the Supervisory Board of SPORT 2000 International at this year's General Assembly. He succeeds Hans-Hermann Deters, who is leaving the Supervisory Board after seven years. The Supervisory Board is composed as follows: Chairman Dr. Holger Schwarting, Austria; Vice Chairman Matthias Grevener, Germany; Marius Rovers, Netherlands; Jean-Louis Parent, France; Roland Felder, Switzerland.

SPORT 2000 International

SPORT 2000 International is the world's second largest trading organization of independent sports retailers with 3,556 stores in 25 countries. The sports retailer generated total sales of 5.3 billion Euro in 2021.

Press Contact:
Katharina Brunnmayr
katharina@impulskommunikation.at | Mobil: +43 676 9505311

SUBSCRIPTION TO PRESS MAILING LIST

We would be pleased to add you to our press mailing list and will send you the requested press informations.

Registration
SUBSCRIPTION TO PRESS MAILING LIST

Oops, there is something missing..

As we take our press mailing list really personally, wie would like to address you with your full name. Please fill in all the fields.

PRESS CONTACT

Impuls Kommunikation
Scharitzerstraße 12, 4020 Linz
Telefon +43 732 234940
Fax +43 732 234940-90
office@impulskommunikation.at

Media Room

zurück
06/2022

Als ONE SPORT 2000 in die Zukunft des internationalen Sportfachhandels

Die Sportfachhandelsgemeinschaft schließt das Geschäftsjahr 2021 mit einem Rekordumsatz von 5,3 Milliarden Euro ab und bestätigt seine führende Position im Sportfachhandel im DACH-Raum. Das Ziel der Sportfachhandelsgruppe ist, weltweit als ONE SPORT 2000 sichtbarer zu werden. Synergien stärken die gesamte Sportfachhandelsgruppe hinsichtlich kommender Herausforderungen wie der Digitalisierung und der Globalisierung. Roland Felder, Geschäftsführer der Schweizer SPORT 2000 Organisation, wurde als neues Mitglied in den Aufsichtsrat gewählt.

Globale Trends wie die Digitalisierung oder die Globalisierung und daraus resultierende Veränderungen wie neue Formen des Kundenverhaltens und der erhöhte Wettbewerbsdruck formen den Sportfachhandel wie nie zuvor. „Der Sportfachhandel muss nun an Schnelligkeit gewinnen und neue Ansätze entwickeln, um auch in Zukunft erfolgreich zu bestehen“, ist Margit Gosau, CEO von SPORT 2000 International und der SPORT 2000 GmbH überzeugt. Die Sportfachhandelsgemeinschaft forciert konsequent das klare Ziel, ein einheitliches Gesamtbild von SPORT 2000 in allen Ländern zu schaffen. „Oft ist es wichtig, sich von alten Mustern zu trennen, um das große Ganze zu verwirklichen. Wir haben bei SPORT 2000 erkannt, dass wir als internationale Sportfachhandelsgemeinschaft noch näher zusammenrücken müssen, um weltweit als ONE SPORT 2000 wahrgenommen zu werden. Nur so können wir kommende Herausforderungen gemeinsam meistern und erfolgreich in die Zukunft des Sportfachhandels gehen“, so Gosau und ergänzt: „Mit der neuen, internationalen Kampagne „Welcome Home“ und dem globalen Claim „Home of Experts“ setzten wir im Mai 2022 bereits einen ersten, wichtigen Schritt in Richtung ONE SPORT 2000. Wir positionieren uns damit in allen SPORT 2000 Ländern mit einem einheitlichen Markenauftritt.“ Für 2022 und 2023 sind weitere Projekte geplant, um SPORT 2000 über Ländergrenzen hinweg zu vereinen.

Marktführerschaft im DACH-Raum

Die Business Vision von SPORT 2000 International, Marktführer mit einer klaren Positionierung im hochwertigen Performance Sport zu sein, gelang in drei Ländern. SPORT 2000 Deutschland, SPORT 2000 Österreich und die Schweizer SPORT 2000 Organisation bestätigen ihre führenden Positionen im Sportfachhandel im vergangenen Geschäftsjahr. SPORT 2000 erreichte im DACH-Raum im Jahr 2021 mit 1.454 Partnerunternehmen und über 2.268 Geschäften einen Brutto Aussenumsatz von 4,087 Milliarden Euro. Als Erfolgsfaktoren nennt Gosau die strategische Ausrichtung der letzten Jahre, über die gesamten SPORT 2000 Länder hinweg: „Der Fokus auf länderübergreifende Kollaborationen, internationalen Kooperationen mit der Industrie, der fortschreitenden Expansion und der Spezialisierung auf höchstem Niveau, gepaart mit unserem Human Touch, hat sich in einem sehr forderndem Marktumfeld erneut als sehr erfolgreich erwiesen. Ein Weg, den wir auf internationaler Ebene konsequent ausbauen und weiterentwickeln“, so Gosau.

SPORT 2000 International verzeichnet Umsatzwachstum von 22,5 Prozent

Auf ein forderndes und zugleich sehr erfolgreiches Geschäftsjahr blickt die Sportfachhandelsgemeinschaft bei der diesjährigen Generalversammlung im Mai 2022 zurück. Nach zwei digitalen Generalversammlungen in den Jahren 2020 und 2021, fand die Generalversammlung dieses Jahr wieder in Präsenz in Mainhausen statt. Mit aktuell 3.556 Standorten in 25 Ländern erwirtschaftete SPORT 2000 International im Jahr 2021 einen Brutto Handelsumsatz von 5,3 Milliarden Euro. Das entspricht einem Umsatzwachstum von 22,5 Prozent. Mit der HV Group als neuem Partner baut SPORT 2000 International 2021 auch seine Position im internationalen Sportfachhandel aus. Auf Madagaskar und Mauritius steht der Aufbau des qualitativen Sportfachhandels mit insgesamt sieben SPORT 2000 Geschäften im neuen SPORT 2000 Multicategory Format im Mittelpunkt.

ABSOLUTE: Spezialisierung auf höchstem Niveau

Einer der Erfolgsfaktoren ist laut Gosau der klare Fokus auf Spezialisierung. Die Etablierung der ABOLUTE Spezialisierungsformate setzt sich im internationalen Sportfachhandel fort. Im Februar 2022 öffnete bereits der siebte ABSOLUTE RUN Store in Minden, Deutschland. Auch die Expansion von ABSOLUTE TEAMSPORT schreitet mit zwei Neueröffnungen im März 2022 weiter voran. Mittlerweile sind es sieben ABSOLUTE TEAMSPORT Stores in Deutschland, zwei in Österreich, zwei in den Niederlanden und zwei in Belgien. SPORT 2000 plant noch in diesem Jahr weitere ABSOLUTE RUN und ABSOLUTE TEAMSPORT Storeöffnungen in Deutschland Belgien, der Schweiz, Ungarn und Bulgarien. „Die rasche, internationale Expansion bestätigt, dass die ABSOLUTE FORMATE die Zukunft des Sportfachhandels sind“, betont Gosau die Relevanz dieser globalen Spezialisierungskonzepte.  

Zukunftsagenda: Digitalisierung und POS Data

Die letzten zwei Jahre sorgten im Sportfachhandel für einen regelrechten Digitalisierungspush. Bereits während der weltweiten Lockdowns und den Geschäftsschließungen entwickelte SPORT 2000 funktionale Online-Lösungen, um Online- und Offlinehandel noch stärker miteinander zu verbinden. Die Digitalisierung bei SPORT 2000 weiter voranzutreiben, ist laut Gosau eine der wichtigsten Zukunftsagenden: „Ob Online- oder Offlinehandel, beide Vertriebsformen brauchen strategisches Informationsmanagement, um effizient zu arbeiten. Noch in diesem Sommer werden wir eine gemeinsame SPORT 2000 Database zu an den Start bringen, in der die internationalen POS Daten laufend aktualisiert und analysiert werden. So gelingt es, frühzeitig auf Trends und Veränderungen zu reagieren und einen Mehrwert für unsere strategischen Partner zu generieren“, so Margit Gosau.

Roland Felder als neues Aufsichtsratsmitglied von SPORT 2000 International

Der Geschäftsführer der Schweizer SPORT 2000 Organisation, Roland Felder, wurde im Rahmen der diesjährigen Generalversammlung als neues Aufsichtsratsmitglied von SPORT 2000 International gewählt. Er folgt Hans-Hermann Deters, der nach 7 Jahren aus dem Aufsichtsrat ausscheidet. Der Aufsichtsrat setzt sich wie folgt zusammen: Vorsitzender Dr. Holger Schwarting, Österreich; stellvertretender Vorsitzender Matthias Grevener, Deutschland; Marius Rovers, Niederlande; Jean-Louis Parent, Frankreich; Roland Felder, Schweiz.

SPORT 2000 International

SPORT 2000 International ist die weltweit zweitgrößte Handelsorganisation selbstständiger Sportfachhändler mit 3.556 Geschäften in 25 Ländern. Das Sporthandelsunternehmen erwirtschaftete 2021 einen Gesamtumsatz von 5,3 Mrd. Euro.

Pressekontakt:
Katharina Brunnmayr
katharina@impulskommunikation.at | Mobil: +43 676 9505311

ANMELDEN ZUM PRESSEVERTEILER

Sehr gerne nehmen wir dich in unseren Presseverteiler auf und schicken dir je nach Wunsch unternehmens- und/oder themenspezifische Presseinformationen zu.

Anmeldung
ANMELDEN ZUM PRESSEVERTEILER

Hoppla, da fehlt noch was...

Wir nehmen Medienverteiler sehr persönlich und möchten dich daher gerne mit deinem vollen Namen ansprechen. Bitte die Felder entsprechend ausfüllen.

PRESSEKONTAKT

Impuls Kommunikation
Scharitzerstraße 12, 4020 Linz
Telefon +43 732 234940
office@impulskommunikation.at